34 Replies Latest reply on May 29, 2013 8:52 AM by conroy

Photoshop CS6 Nudging 10 pixel problem

chaddurham Level 1

Hi.

I have identified a major problem using CS6.

When nudging folders (filled with layers) around in Photoshop. Holding the shift key at the same time as pressing an arrow usaully nugdes content 10 pixels. However, pressing the arrow key in quick succession, for example 4 times, it will only nudge content 39 pixels or 41 pixels. Pressing the arrow key, say 10 times, quickly would result in only a 95 pixel movement.

Opening the same (80mb) file in CS5 and performing the same test, nudges a ... perfect 10 everytime..

I am a ux visual designer working on major household clients and my PSDs need to be pixel perfect before passing to development. Anything out of place would be highlighted and ultimately would make me look like a novice.

The files are not big. They are for the web. I use CS6 (v 13.0.4) and a 2.7 Ghz Intel Core i7 Macbook Retina with 16GB RAM and SSD. Currently the fastest Macbook you can buy!

• 1. Re: Photoshop CS6 Nudging 10 pixel MAJOR BUG
          Level 5

This may well be one—or yet another one—of those unresolved issues with the Retina screens.  It could well be that the lack of responses to your post indicates there won't be full Retina support until CC (Photoshop 14.x) is released on June 17, at the earliest.

If you care to upload (e.g. to Dropbox or yousendit.com) a sample file on which you can replicate the issue, then others who don't have a Retina display can see if they can reproduce this anomaly on their system.

• 2. Re: Photoshop CS6 Nudging 10 pixel MAJOR BUG
            chaddurham Level 1

Hello. Perhaps it is a retina problem but really this is a major flaw. I've created a new test file and can confirm I am still having the same issues. Pressing the shift+ arrow key 10 times quickly results in only a 99 pixel movement.

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/1571567/10_PIXEL_test_file.psd