7 Replies Latest reply on May 23, 2013 9:44 AM by the_wine_snob

Premiere Elements 9 - project settings, various sources

a-adine

I'm new to Premiere Elements and before I even begin my first project, I'm stumped by setting the 'project settings'.  I have video from various sources - the old camcorder, my iphone and now a new camcorder, and I'm wanting to use them all.  What do I chose for project settings?  Is it even possible to do this?

• 1. Re: Premiere Elements 9 - project settings, various sources
          A.T. Romano Level 7

a-adine

Premiere Elements (any version) allows for one project preset. So, when you have a variety of formats to incorporate into a project, you need to set priorities.

The project preset (new project dialog) for each program directs the program to set up the correct space in the Edit Mode Monitor from which to edit. And, the properties of the source media should match the project preset description to avoid black border and related aspect ratio issues.

If you set the project up with regard to one format/sizing, there is an opportunity in the program to scale the other formats to fill that Edit Mode Monitor space for editing and to avoid black borders. Typically scaling down is preferred to scaling up, but often one can get away with scaling up, getting fairly acceptable results.

If you post some details of your video properties, we all can offer comments about the appropriate project preset choices for interlaced and progressive video and other.

We will be watching for further details.

Thanks.

ATR

• 2. Re: Premiere Elements 9 - project settings, various sources
            Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Also note that the program is much more versatile in version 11 and you can mix several video types in the same project with usually excellent results.

If you're going to work with more than one format of video, it's well worth the price of an upgrade for this feature alone.