1 Reply Latest reply on Oct 25, 2007 8:33 PM by ntsiii

How to refer to an object by variable

smokinjoefission
      Hi all,

I'm quite new to Flex so please forgive my newbieness. I'm not even sure how to phrase a search for the solution to my question, so I'm sorry if this has been discussed before:

I have a form with 2 states that a user is to fill out and submit to my server (step 1, step 2, no problem, I've got that far). I want to have the contents of each field saved into a local shared object as the user fills out the information (again, no problem I've got that figured out) as it's a lengthy process and the user can close their browser and come back to where they left off at a later time without having to re-enter everything.

I'm saving the information in the shared object using the object's id as a key. Example: mySharedObject.companyName = companyName.text

Where I'm getting stumped is when the user comes back to the the form, and the previously entered data is drawn from the shared object, how can I reference the original form object from the shared object's key? Part of my problem is that some of the text forms are contained within another container (such as a canvas), so it's not as simple as iterating through the objects in the application and assigning the saved values based on a comparison of the objects id.

Any guidance in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
      Krys
        • 1. Re: How to refer to an object by variable
          ntsiii Level 3
          You might have to store that path information in the lso.

For example, the "key" might be "app.component1.component12.componentX".

You woul dhave to parse that string:
          aPath:Array = key.split(".") ;

and at each step, get a referenct to the corresponding component.

So at your main app level, you might do:
          var target:UIComponent = this[aPath[1]];
          target = target[aPath[2]];

But actually, that is kind of crazy.