5 Replies Latest reply: Mar 16, 2015 5:39 PM by planeman40 RSS

Scratch disk full and cannot open photoshop to fix it...

pmcalarn17 Community Member

I cannot open photoshop because it says the scratch disk is full. I have been using photoshop (cs5) for 10 years and never had this problem. I recently installed cs5 on my Windows 7 computer and it worked for a few weeks, then this problem arose. I cannot afford a new version at this time but would like to use cs5 on this computer and I know it can work because it did for several weeks but now it won't and I can't follow the typical steps to remedy this situation because I cannot open photoshop. Please help!

• 1. Re: Scratch disk full and cannot open photoshop to fix it...
          EricaLynneLarson Adobe Employee

Hi there,

The tips outlined below came from this site.

First, if you can open Photoshop, check to see what hard drive is set up as your Photoshop scratch disk. To do this, go to Photoshop > Preferences > Performance. Then look under Scratch Disks to see which one you are using and how much free space it has. (FYI—I've included these steps for future visitors to this thread.)

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 6.48.48 PM.jpg

Screen Shot 2013-06-02 at 6.50.24 PM.jpg

Option 1: Delete some files

If your scratch disk is very full (or the free space is low), try deleting some unwanted files from the drive (for me, "Macintosh HD" as seen in the image above) to make room for new ones.

Option 2: Delete temp files

Search your computer for temporary files. These files are typically named ~PST####.tmp on Windows and Temp#### on Macintosh, where #### is a series of numbers. These are safe to delete.

Option 3: Defragment your Hard Disk

Instructions for Windows

Instructions for Mac

I hope one of these methods works for you!

• 2. Re: Scratch disk full and cannot open photoshop to fix it...
            Mylenium ACP/MVPs