2 Replies Latest reply on Oct 18, 2007 9:51 AM by bobthree

AutoRun ThumbDrive

bobthree
      I have not submitted much to the forum, but I do read it and usually someone else has the same problem as I do. I would like to thank everyone out there that has provided the information needed. I am an architect and I have been making autorun cds for my clients using director. I use them so that they can see both the proposed floor plans and a picture of what the building looks like at the same time. We also create AVIs using Sketchup and I also incorporate them into the proposed plans. I am looking at starting a very large project with many floor plans, pictures and a large amount of digital videos. I noticed that the new thumb drives have the capability to have autorun. Some of the problems that I run into with the CD's is the speed on other machine's players. If I was to use the thumb drive, would it be better to use "direct to stage" or not? Use the preload or let the dv play from the thumbdrive? If anyone one has used an autorun thumbdrive before, I would appreciate any help.
        • 1. Re: AutoRun ThumbDrive
          Applied CD Level 1
          I’ve used both the U3 enabled sticks ( http://www.u3.com/) and the sticks from UDRW ( http://www.udrw.com/) IMHO the U3 sticks come with a lot of junk you don’t need or want (like pre-installed applications), and the manual is huge although once you figure out how to install your application the steps aren’t really that bad. I found the UDRW sticks much easier to setup. On the other hand, U3 has partnerships with all of the major stick manufacturers so there’s a much wider choice of capacity and format.