5 Replies Latest reply on Oct 17, 2007 7:46 AM by clbeech

Toggle Music on/off

Jack.Straw
      Hello. I'm trying add a music on/off button to my flash project. The music is on it's own layer (called "sounds layer") and is an .mp3 set to repeat. What script command could I use to stop the music? I've tried...

on (release)
      {
      stopAllSounds();
      }

... but that just halts the current sound loop, and the music just restarts. Any ideas?

Thanks in advance,
      -Jack
        • 1. Re: Toggle Music on/off
          Level 7
          Use the Sound object, not the timeline...

--
          Dave -
          Head Developer
          http://www.blurredistinction.com
          Adobe Community Expert
          http://www.adobe.com/communities/experts/

• 2. Re: Toggle Music on/off
            Jack.Straw Level 1
            Sorry, i'm VERY new to flash and I'm trying to modify a script. I'm afraid I need a little more information. The "sounds layer" starts playing the music on frame 336 of the timeline. Selecting that frame/layer on the timeline shows me which sound file is being played and that it is set to repeat. However, I don't see a label for a "sound object" anywhere... nor a script that would start the music. I've been working under the assumption that the music is just part of the timeline. Is this incorrect?
            • 3. Re: Toggle Music on/off
              clbeech Level 3
              well it can be 'embedded' into the timeline, but it's not the idea way of playing sounds, particularly a music file, and it will eat up a lot of memory to store the sound file (like music) in the swf. Better to use a 'Sound Object' like Dave says above, you have more control of it, and can load the Sound in even 'stream' it from an external file.