3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 5, 2013 3:58 PM by RopeChoker

My Needs... My Build... But Would Appreciate The Gurus' Perspectives

RopeChoker Level 1

I am new to video and Adobe Software but have decided to dive in and learn. For the past few months, I have read through more forum posts than I can remember in order to decide on a PC for editing HD video. My preference is laptop and I have focused on Sager and ASUS but no matter what I come up with in a laptop configuration, there seems to be heat issues and/or display issues and/or quality issues and/or price issues. I am almost at the point where I am ready to throw in the towel and build my on desktop. If the towel gets thrown, I have a mid-tower build in mind but would like one or more of the build gurus to look it over and give either blessing or curse.

Prior to dropping the specs on you, here is an overview of my activities and needs:

My primary interest is in shooting video but will also shoot some stills. I do a lot of hiking and some backpacking and virtually all of the video and stills will be shot outdoors in wilderness areas of New Mexico. I just bought my first DSLR (one month ago) -- a Canon 60D and a Canon 24/2.8 IS USM lens -- to use in that endeavor and have been very happy with that camera setup on the hikes I’ve taken it on so far. I plan on shooting video at full 1080P/30fps. I have read that the MOV format is not an editor-friendly format, so, if necessary, I am open to buying and using CineForm.