2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 8, 2013 5:47 PM by EdanCo

My (potential) World of Pain --- what would you do?

EdanCo

I have also posted this in the Creative Cow forums -- apologies if you read both forums and see this twice, but I wanted to make sure I hit both forums.

I am starting to edit a project that will mix footage from Red Epic, Blackmagic Camera & Pana AF100. Delivery will be a 1080P master for web and an MPG master for DVD.

My question is two-fold -- part one:

This is my first time working with R3D files. My plan is to create a 1080 sequence and "scale to fit" the Red clips into the timeline. I have already tried this and it works fine. I need to play back the files at 1/4 for smooth playback, but everything works so far. Is this the best possible way of working with this footage? If you were to edit all of these files together - is this way you would do it? I want to make sure I am setting myself up to work the quickest and most efficient way possible. Any advice is greatly appreciated from folks who've already done this.

Part 2:

Once I get everything edited, I want to color grade the final. Previously, I would use Colorista + MB Looks. I can always go that route, but I'd like to try something different - especially since I have the flexibility of the R3D files. I've been playing with the files in Resolve and getting amazing results, but everything I am reading about round-trip work with Premiere is scaring me, specifically if your edit contains more than just straight cuts & dissolves. Speedgrade (as it currently works) is a nightmare. If any of you have used the newer version due to drop sometime this month, can you weigh in on if you think it will be a viable option. Obviously, if Speedgrade becomes more user-friendly, it would be great to stay in the Adobe ecosystem.

Ok - sorry for the length of this post, but I believe in asking for advice before making mistakes. =)

• 1. Re: My (potential) World of Pain --- what would you do?