3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 14, 2007 6:22 PM by pixlor

NOOB - MX2004 Fireworks - How to Fill Vector Shapes

Joe@Retroman
      I am a complete noob to this application, so please forgive the possible idiocy of this question - but I am having no luck.

Project - Modifying the main top banner file for a new web site - I have a logo created for a project, drawn on a transparent canvas - within this png file there are some lines joined to create shapes. If I attempt to fill these areas, the lines will "fill", but the space captured by the lines does not.

Goal - make these areas opaque, as part of the logo.

Any assistance or tricks (but not points to my idiocy) are appreciated!

Best -

Joe
        • 1. NOOB - MX2004 Fireworks - How to Fill Vector Shapes
          heathrowe Most Valuable Participant
          Hey Joe, when you select the Vector Object, have a look down in the Property Inspectors panel.

There is two options, Fill Options for the main vector shape, and Stroke Options for the outline.

Simply select the object/layer and apply your choice of fill.
          However if your object is an 'open' path object then the Fill option will not fill correctly? Is this what you are seeing?

h
          • 2. Re: NOOB - MX2004 Fireworks - How to Fill Vector Shapes
            Level 7
            Joe@Retroman wrote:
            > I am a complete noob to this application, so please forgive the possible idiocy
            > of this question - but I am having no luck.
            >
            > Project - Modifying the main top banner file for a new web site - I have a
            > logo created for a project, drawn on a transparent canvas - within this png
            > file there are some lines joined to create shapes. If I attempt to fill these
            > areas, the lines will "fill", but the space captured by the lines does not.

Fireworks will only fill closed paths. Simply joining the lines doesn't