6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 9, 2013 3:47 PM by eshan.mathur

How do I select text in an imported (placed) Photoshop PDF?

eshan.mathur

Hi there,

I'm trying to use InDesign to generate links in a Photshop-created file that needs to eventually end up as a PDF. This is my first time using InDesign. I initially was placing the PSD file itself into InDesign, but quickly realized that the text rasterized upon import. I read somewhere on these boards that importing a Photoshop PDF instead will preserve the text, and this is true. It's clearly vector and I can zoom in as much as I like and see that the text is smooth.

However, in order to create hyperlinks I need to select the text, and I'm unable to do this - the entire imported image is one solid block within a frame. Any ideas?

My workaround should that not be possible is to figure out how to create links from a rectangular area. That would have the same effect, I think.

Thanks!

• 1. Re: How do I select text in an imported (placed) Photoshop PDF?
          Dave Merchant MVP & Adobe Community Professional

You can't dig about inside a placed file - even though the PDF has 'real text' inside it, InDesign treats it as any other graphic frame. Equally, although when you export to PDF the placed file will again appear as 'real text', any interactivity in the placed PDF is destroyed; so creating the links inside the PDF won't help either.

What you're doing isn't the correct workflow, but if you've gone down this route too far to turn back, you have two options to create links that visually align with the content of the placed file - you can use the Link tool in Acrobat (easier, as once you're in the final PDF the text is selectable - then right-click for the context menu with 'create link' at the bottom) or you can create an empty rectangular frame in InDesign, make that frame a hyperlink (select the frame itself, then add a hyperlink using the panel), then position it over the text.