3 Replies Latest reply on Jun 11, 2013 9:56 PM by Steve Werner

Section headers

Bluebird52 Level 1

I would like to put a  heading at the top of each section of a book, next to the page number.  Right pages only, different headers for each section/chapter.  I don't like the idea of running headers as I wouldn't have control over how it is worded (in some cases I want to shorten the name of the chapter).  I created a variable for each chapter, but I'm not sure where to insert them.  I have a master page, but where do I put it?  I have separate sections for each chapter but can't click in the master page header box.  Thanks.

• 1. Re: Section headers
          Steve Werner Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Create your Section Marker in the Numbering & Section Options dialog for the section (illustration below from InDesign CC but this is the same in earlier versions of InDesign):

InDesign003.jpg

Place it on the master page using the Type > Insert Special Character menu:

InDesign004.jpg

• 2. Re: Section headers
            Bluebird52 Level 1

That's excellent, thank you so much Steve.  I gotta say, I'm lovin this InDesign program.  I used to use PageMaker quite a number of years ago, and this is just so superior. 

One more quick question, though.  One thing I used to do in PM was to be able to drag the screen by holding down command and then pulling it in various directions with the mouse.  That was a really easy and quick way to reposition your screen.  I find it clunky and hard on the eyes to constantly be doing that using the scroll bars, which are sometimes even hidden by the Pages panel.  Is there a way to do this in InDesign? I searched the keyboard commands but couldn't see anything.  Thanks.

• 3. Re: Section headers
              Steve Werner Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You do that in InDesign by using the Hand tool. The shortcut (the equivalent of what you did in PM) is to hold down the Spacebar while you drag.