3 Replies Latest reply on Oct 16, 2007 12:12 AM by kruse

Fusebox and MVC

kruse
      HI, I'm new to fusebox and want to start to use it in my newest project.
      I will also implement the design pattern MVC (Model-View-Control).
      But I have some questions about this.

1. I will have the fusebox to call a start circuit (Control). But in the name of MVC how should the structure be?

/Model
      /View
      /Control

Should I then have sub directory in these like

/Model/
      /View/dsp_entry
      /Contol/Entry

Should it be /Control/Entry and then an entry in the circuit
      or
      Should it be /Control and then an entry in that Circuit (without the entry circuit subdirectory)

3. What about the structure of a login?
      I think that the entry circuit should test if the user is loggedin (Control dir ?) and then call /View/dsp_login.cfm or /View/login/dsp_login.

4. When and how should sub dirs used?

5. Calling a model. I uses cfc's for database access. I have a cfc called food that handles all the select, update and deletes of foods. But where should that cfc be located? I know that it should be in the dir /Model. But Should it be in /Model/Food???)

I think that some of the questions may be a little uncleare. But maby will an answer for one of the questions answer the rest of my questions.
        • 1. Re: Fusebox and MVC
          Steve Sommers Level 4
          Ahh, the fun of system design and structure. This is a very difficult question to answer. I've organized it in different ways and have not found one method I am 100% satisfied with. The best way I have found is by function like: usercp, inventory, shoppingcart, shipping, etc. I would check out the fusebox.org site and forums, you'll probably get more responses to fusebox specific questions like these.
          • 2. Re: Fusebox and MVC
            craigkaminsky Level 3
            Hi,