8 Replies Latest reply: Jun 18, 2013 1:35 AM by Eugene Tyson RSS

Placing a Word doc into Indesign

lwood@pvcc.edu

I am trying to place a word doc with a table and chart into an Indesign doc.  Everything (text and table) imports except for the chart.  What am I doing wrong? Thank you

• 1. Re: Placing a Word doc into Indesign
          BobLevine UGM

How'd the chart get into Word?

Bob

• 2. Re: Placing a Word doc into Indesign
            lwood@pvcc.edu Community Member

The word doc is from a client.  I'm assuming it was created in Word.  I have to admit I'm not an expert in Word and especially not in creating charts.  They are all lovely charts, pie charts, tables etc and I am having a hard time recreating them in Indesign.  i'd rather just import them but it's proving to be very difficult.

If they were not created in Word would that explain why they are absent when I place the word doc? or maybe they were created in another word doc and imported into another word doc where the text was created?  ... just thinking out loud....

• 3. Re: Placing a Word doc into Indesign
              BobLevine UGM

Could easily have been pasted from Excel. If that's the case they'd be in there with OLE and I'm guessing they won't wind up in ID. Do you have Word? If so, open the file and check it.

Bob

• 4. Re: Placing a Word doc into Indesign
                MW Design Community Member

Alternatively, try making a PDF from the word doc and in acrobat, export the charts as either EPs or PNG images. If you have office installed and they were ole objects you should be able to double click on them or click on them and choose to edit in excel. If so, you could PDF the charts from excel and place those in ID.

Mike

• 5. Re: Placing a Word doc into Indesign

I do have Word.  I don't know how to tell if the charts are OLE's or not.  But I think they are built within Word.  When I select them all the menus for editing charts appear.