6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 16, 2013 7:08 PM by Matthew Alpert

CS6 breaks ActionScript 2.0 projects. No var property for TextInput or Label.

Matthew Alpert

I've been programming for years, but I'm brand new to Flash. For various reasons, I need to learn ActionScript 2.0 instead of 3.0. All I could get from Adobe's website is the trial for CS6.

When I look at tutorials for AS2, controls such TextInput and Label are supposed to have a variable associated with them. Then in code, one can simply get/set that variable to read/change the control's contents. For example: http://youtu.be/H_TEa6i2Bhk?t=2m57s

However, in CS6, TextInput and Label controls have no such "var" property that I can find. After hours with no luck, I decided to download examples of AS2 projects and open them up to see how they look. Here's one I tried: http://www.freeactionscript.com/2009/07/endless-parallax-scrolling/

Notice at the bottom of the flash window are labels for the x and y speed that change dynamically as you use the arrow keys. The zip contains both the .fla and .swf file. When I run the .swf file, it works fine. When I open the .fla file in Flash Pro CS6 and hit Ctrl+Enter (which overrites the .swf file), everything works EXCEPT the labels no longer update. The overwritten .swf file no longer works correctly either, as expected.

I tried this on several other examples and in each case any Label or TextInput controls no longer worked correctly. When I go to File->ActionScript Settings, it says ActionScript 2.0. What am I doing wrong?

• 1. Re: CS6 breaks ActionScript 2.0 projects. No var property for TextInput or Label.
          Ned Murphy Adobe Community Professional & MVP

You might be correct as far as CS6 breaking the AS2 files' use of the textfields.  If I use an earlier version (CS3) the file plays and the textfields remain updating.  As soon as I open it with CS6 the textfields fail.  So the short answer is, you aren't doing anything wrong.