8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 17, 2013 9:27 AM by defiantclass

New Document Facing Pages

defiantclass

I'm new to InDesign. Every time I start a new document it begines with a single None Page. If I add a spread of facing pages (I guess that is what it's called, 2 pages booklet style) they come after the single none page. If I delete the single none page one of facing pages becomes the new none page. I don't want that.

What I want is double page spreads only. I'm creating a booklet and I don't want single sheets in there at all. The first 2 pages will be the cover and back cover, the next 2 will be pages 1 and 2 of the book. And so on. It's messing me up to have a single blank page at the beginning and I can't get rid of it.

Can someon help? I'll put an image here to try to explain. I'm not sure that I am saying it correctly.

Capture02.JPG

• 1. Re: New Document Facing Pages
          Eugene Tyson Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If you're sending this to the printers then you need to have all pages in sequence from Front Cover - page 1 - page 2 - 3 - 4 -5 -6 -7 -8 etc. Back Cover.

If it's yourself then this will work too - you need the pages in sequence then use File>Print Booklet (making sure you have mutlple of 4, i.e., 20 or 24 - not 22 pages)

Can you clarify what your output intent is?

Page 1 and all Odd Numbered pages are traditioanlly Right Hand Pages - and all Even Page Numbers are traditionally Left Hand Pages.

• 2. Re: New Document Facing Pages
            Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

ID likes to adhere to publishing convention, where, in countries that use left-to-right reading, odd numbered pages are on the right and even numbers are on the left, and your doucment is normally set up as it will appear to your reader when bound, so the first page should be alone, as the cover of a closed book. The back cover also should be a single page.