9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 19, 2013 10:05 AM by Steve Grisetti

Comverting camcorder HD MTS to MP4 with PE11?

TheRedKnightMike

Hi folks,

I just got a Canon Vixia HF R300 and am recording at its highest definition. According to its manual, this "MXP" type is 1920x1080 @ 60 fps interlaced.

But to my chagrin, the camcorder came with almost zero software. Just a Pixela "Transfer Utility" that does little more than copy the MTS from the SDxc card to my hard disk, something I can do manually. Further, the movie is broken into 2 GB segments, which average very close to 11 minutes and 27 seconds of film (and an hour is about 10 GB).

When I pull this into PE11, it says the properties are MPEG Movie, 1920x1080, 29.97 fps, pixel aspect ratio 1.0.

I want to keep my home movies at the highest resolution possible (which I can only imagine is the initial resolution), but it's nice to save space if possible

I am an amateur at this and want to make sure I'm not missing anything...

If I output it to 1920x1080 @ 29.97 MP4, will I be degrading it any? I notice the fps is not identical, but interlaced is kinda sorta half speed, anyway...

And I presume it's ok to concatenate the 2-GB pieces.

Also, do I mess anything up by directly copying JUST the MTS files? I can see that it makes some small tracking files whenever I video. Everything looks ok in PE11, but maybe I don't realize I'm missing something.

Help or comments appreciated! Canon has left users a little high and dry... but then, I did get a pretty decent piece of hardware cheap. So, you get what you pay for. 

Thanks!

Mike

• 1. Re: Comverting camcorder HD MTS to MP4 with PE11?
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

If you attach your camcorder to your computer via USB, you can (and should) use Premiere Elements' Add Media/From Flip and Camera tool (the Video Importer) to get the video from the camcorder and into your project.