14 Replies Latest reply on Jun 21, 2013 11:08 PM by DM50000

Help with recreating image

DM50000

Hi, I'm relatively new to photoshop but I'm trying to recreate a similar image to the one below. Basically our web designers created this background image and then lost the files. As they've now signed off on the job (with a placeholder background image), I'm trying to recreate the old one below.

From my observation, I think theres a layer of stars at the back, followed by a layer of nebula texture, and then the planet on top of that.  I've created something vaguely similar with images that I've found, but I'm having trouble getting the nice old grainey feel. I'm using CS6, but the "add noise" filter doesn't seem to create the same effect. I've also just purchased OnOne Perfect Photo Suite 7, and I'm currently getting to know my way around those filters. Are these considered a good suite of plugins?

I'm also having a bit of trouble getting the colour right... think that the background stars are a different colour to the nebula layer, does that sound right? And how woulld I go about identifying the exact brown/orange colour? Also the dark shading looks great I think and I'm struggling to recreate this as well.

If anyone has any suggestions as to how to recreate this background image i'd be really grateful!

I'm using a MacPro running 0SX 10.6.8, with PhotoShop CS 6 & OnOne Perfect Photo Suite 7.

Thanks in advance!!!

Cropped Moon Zero image.jpg

• 1. Re: Help with recreating image
          DM50000 Level 1

Perhaps i should put this in the beginners section?

• 2. Re: Help with recreating image
            DM50000 Level 1

bump...

• 3. Re: Help with recreating image
              Trevor.Dennis Adobe Community Professional