10 Replies Latest reply on Jun 20, 2013 12:29 PM by Rick Gerard

Multiple 3D Tracked Objects

Lone Lobo Level 1

I'm new to After Effects and struggling just a bit.  I tried searching this forum but found no obvious reference to my question.  I have figured out how 3d Tracking works for a single object, but don't know how to handle multiple tracked objects on the same video clip.  How do I go about tracking more than one object or Text Object in the same clip?

• 1. Re: Multiple 3D Tracked Objects
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

I think you have a misunderstanding here. The 3D Tracker creates a virtual camera that matches the one used to record the video, it doesn't track or reconstruct geometry. Any placement of 3D points is to that purpose only and utterly arbitrary based on the footage criteria like discrete edges, contrast and so on, not geometry.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Multiple 3D Tracked Objects
            Lone Lobo Level 1

I understand the theory...at a kindergarten level. I just need to know how to handle multiple objects that I want to use with the same virtual camera. IE. What I want to do is to track multiple "Text" objects to different points on the same clip.  The "text" labels need to appear and disappear as the scene progresses.

I can't seem to find any reference to adding more objects after going thru the process of analyzing the scene/selecting the plane and points/and then right clicking to add text/object/null.  I need to add more text/object/null's  and just don't know the mechanics of doing this AND attaching said objects to a different set of virtual reference points. 

And yes, my ignorance is showing.  Just need some education or pointers to where to get educated.  My current resources are Adobe and Lynda.com  Both are not teaching me what I want to learn.

• 3. Re: Multiple 3D Tracked Objects
              Lone Lobo Level 1