4 Replies Latest reply on Jun 21, 2013 10:33 AM by A.T. Romano

Exporting a Clip

NatureVideo

Hello, Thanks ahead of time to anyone for their help.

1) Yes I looked in FAQ and phrased the question several ways with no match.

2) I am a total beginner in Premiere Elements 11. Am using the MAC version.

3) I obviously am overlooking something here.

4) I imported an hour long video segment, (Shot on tape based camera, Sony HDR FX7, is HD footage) dragged it to the Timeline, edited a 20 second clip, deleting everything else from the Timeline.

5) I want to EXPORT this clip, Preserving the HD quality and also Export it in a File Format that will enable someone else to Import it into Apple Final Cut Pro.

6) I click on the clip to Highlight it, but when I go to File, and get the Dropdown menu, the word EXPORT is not highlighted, it is not selectable. First question, what am I doing wrong that EXPORT is not an option?

7) I also went to SHARE, and what I get there makes absolutely no sense at all. I ONLY have the original One hour clip in my Project Assets, and I only have the 20 second clip on my Timeline. I highlight the clip, go to SHARE,

and it tells me that my "Shared" video will be 2 hours and 3 minutes long, which obviously is not possible. Again I'm open to the possibility/probability that I'm doing something monumentally stupid here, but I need someone to enlighten me.

8) Last but not least, if someone could tell me what the correct output format/file settings would be, to output the clip to preserve the HD quality and to have the exported file able to be imported into Final Cut Pro, that would be the icing on the cake.

Thanks again. I hope everyone's having a great day.

• 1. Re: Exporting a Clip
          A.T. Romano Level 7

NatureVideo

6) I click on the clip to Highlight it, but when I go to File, and get the Dropdown menu, the word EXPORT is not highlighted, it is not selectable. First question, what am I doing wrong that EXPORT is not an option?