5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 21, 2013 9:40 AM by yellow_gecko

How to make object dissapear and reappear?

yellow_gecko

I was watching a video on YouTube on how to make an explosion. However, the video is not very helpful as the guy doesn't explain anything. I am not a complete newbie, but I still need some help on simple stuf sometimes. The part I am stuck on is when he makes a "patch" of the texture in the driveway, and then he covers up his explosive box. After that, he copies the box and is able to make appear and dissapear.

The part of the video I don't understand is at 1 minute, 22 seconds.

Here is the video link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qL1KkAfwflk

• 1. Re: How to make object dissapear and reappear?
          Rick Gerard Adobe Community Professional & MVP

If you look closely the guy duplicates the layer and draws a mask around part of the layer that doesn't have a box. Then he moves the duplicate up to cover the box. Then he duplicates the layer again and draws another mask more closely around the box so he can apply shatter to that duplicate layer.

AE is all about layers. Don't expect to do much with a plug-in and a single layer.  I just wrapped up a composite shot that was 20 layers, most of them copies of the original footage.

• 2. Re: How to make object dissapear and reappear?
            Netcommercial Level 1

Hi YellowG, no point in double posting.... Try using your (menu at the top)  Layer>NEW>SOLID....Note the Size parameters in that dialogue box. (Not necessary to adj it there, but nice NOT making it as Big as your comp for your application) Now see the Eye Dropper next to the color square? Use that to capture the color next to the item you want to camouflage. Adjust accordingly.

• 3. Re: How to make object dissapear and reappear?
              yellow_gecko Level 1