11 Replies Latest reply on Oct 18, 2007 11:10 AM by clbeech

stageWidth after resize

KinseyFobes
      When I resize the stage during execution stage.stageWidth changes as expected, but the 0,0 coorinate seems to ove. When I trace out the stage.mouseX or mouseY coordinates after maximizing the stage I get negative numbers for the upper left hand corner, and the lower right gives numbers that are too low. For instance my normal stageWidth is 550, but when I maximize I get 1020, but the left side of my stage returns a position of -235 and the right side gives 785 (234 + 785 = 1020). Is there a way to reset the base coordinate, or am I doing something wrong?

Kinsey
        • 1. Re: stageWidth after resize
          Rothrock Level 5
          You know I haven't tried this in AS3 (which I gather from stage.stageWidth instead of Stage.width) and even then I'm no expert on this, but…

Have you gone into your publish settings and change the HTML setting to left top? Or there might be some way of setting that through the code in AS3?

Again, I'm not really clear on all this, having not yet done it in AS3. Just some ideas…
          • 2. stageWidth after resize
            clbeech Level 3
            Say, I'm not up with AS3 yet either, but it occured to me ... isn't this what the Stage is suppose to do? From your discription above, it seems as though the Stage did not 'resize' which is just what it's suppose to do, stay the same size and become 'placed' in the center of the window? You'd said that trace the mouse coordinates gives negative values on the left and greater values on the right than the width of the original Stage ... that's how it should be right.

It seems like the actual 'size' of the Stage should only be changed when implementing the onResize method. Not sure but it seems ...

just some thoughts :)
            • 3. Re: stageWidth after resize
              KinseyFobes Level 1