2 Replies Latest reply on Jun 22, 2013 3:36 PM by A.T. Romano

Blurry DVD menu

oliph002help

I just bought Adobe premiere elements 11. i set up my project as an SD Widescreen NTSC from a Hard Disk Drive video camera source. I choose one of the DVD menus from the Tools. There is no way in Tools to select whether you want a SD or HD menu. So I just selected one appropriate for my movie. Well, when I preview the DVD, I understand that it is a quick preview and not going to be perfect, but the menu comes up. Clear at first, then it changes from a standard to widescreen format and then gets extrememly blurry. Even when i burn my DVD, it is really blurry. I am not very good with the technical side of the program or the video camera, but I could use all the help I can get. Your help is very appreciated. Thank you.

• 1. Re: Blurry DVD menu
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Where are you judging this DVD menu's blurriness? On a TV?

The frame size of a DVD is 720x480 pixels.If you're looking at your DVD at 720x480 -- particularly on a TV or with software like VLC Player -- it should look crystal clear.

This, of course, will NOT be the case if you're watching your DVD blown out to full to full screen on, say, a 1280x1024 computer monitor.

(There are also issues like interlacing, which VLC Player compensates for nicely on a computer and Windows Media Player and Quicktime do not.)

• 2. Re: Blurry DVD menu
            A.T. Romano Level 7

oliph002help

I have seen what you are talking about with regard to previewing of the disc menu in the Movie Menu section of a Premiere Elements 11 Windows project. But in the burned to disc for that project, I have not seen any problems in the DVD-VIDEO on DVD disc produced for this project (menu included)..

There is no way in Tools to select whether you want a SD or HD menu.