6 Replies Latest reply: Sep 4, 2013 9:32 AM by Jeff-uGenius RSS

Is it possible to use workers if one develops in the Flash IDE?

ian10037 Community Member

I've been tryting to get the new concurrency feature working - I downloaded Flash CC and have the latest versions (11.7) of the player and plug-ins installed. But - none of the code from the forums or AS3 reference works (and yes, I've tweaked it so it compiles either as an external as class or as timeline code).

There are no errors, but Worker.isSupported returns false.

I'm a very confident coder (usually), but this has me completely stumped....

• 1. Re: Is it possible to use workers if one develops in the Flash IDE?
          Vinod Menon@Adobe Adobe Employee

Yes. You should be able to use workers. Workers can only be used for background processing. There are mechanisms for communication with workers using shared properties and channels.

Check the url below.

http://help.adobe.com/en_US/as3/dev/WS2f73111e7a180bd0-5856a8af1390d64d08c-7ffe.html

I am also sharing a simple sample which shows usage of worker.

Loader movie which is loading the worker (LoaderMovie.swf)

package  {

import flash.display.MovieClip;

import flash.net.*;

import flash.events.*;

import flash.concurrent.*;

import flash.utils.ByteArray;

import flash.system.Worker;

import flash.system.*;

import flash.events.Event;

public class LoaderMovie extends MovieClip {

private var worker:Worker;

public function LoaderMovie() {

// constructor code

//Load the swf for worker

var workerLoader:URLLoader = new URLLoader();

workerLoader.dataFormat = URLLoaderDataFormat.BINARY;

workerLoader.addEventListener(Event.COMPLETE, loadComplete);

workerLoader.load(new URLRequest("simpletween.swf"));

this.addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, handleEnterFrame);

}

public function loadComplete(evt:Event):void

{

var workerBytes:ByteArray = evt.target.data as ByteArray;

worker = WorkerDomain.current.createWorker(workerBytes);