6 Replies Latest reply on Jul 1, 2013 10:35 AM by OEGI_SZ

The New Filters in Elements 11 Crash my Laptop

LFCNik Level 1

I'm new to elements and have been enjoying learning it up to now, however when I try to experiment with the new filters, Graphic Novel, Comic and Pen & Ink the program crashes and  closes down.

My laptop is not a top of the range model by any means but the other filters all work correctly.

I'm using a Toshiba C660 laptop with 4BG of Ram, the video card is just the standard built in one. 

So, my question is, is it the laptop not being powerful enough or do I just need to alter some settings within elements to get them to work?

I appreciate this may be a newbie question but I would be grateful for any help.

• 1. Re: The New Filters in Elements 11 Crash my Laptop
          mytaxsite.co.uk Level 6

I would say there is nothing wrong with your laptop except that you are using a 4GB RAM so this would suggest that you have a 64 bit machine running Windows 7 or Windows 8.  XP on 32 bit machines (and Win7 and Win 8 32 bit machines) never recognized anything more than 3GB.

This said, I would think resetting your preferences file might solve the problem.  See if these instructions are of any help:

<

http://www.designerdigitals.com/digital-scrapbooking/tips/questions/172/How+can+I+reset+th e++preferences+in+Photoshop+Elements%3F++

>

G/L

• 2. Re: The New Filters in Elements 11 Crash my Laptop
            LFCNik Level 1

Thanks for the reply, The laptop is running 64 bit windows 7.  I followed the instructions in the link and reset elements preferences file, loaded up a picture and tried to add the Comic filter but again elements just closed down but this time with the dialog box which states that the program is closing and windows is checking for a solution, which it does not find.