6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 28, 2013 9:56 AM by kabotsi7521

Using Custom Calculation Script box in Acrobat Pro X

kabotsi7521

I would like to simply subtract several fields from one field and have the result show up in final/total field when a user clicks her mouse in the field. I have used the custom calculation script. What is wrong with the code below? Without the <script></script> it doesn't work; with it, it  complains about a missing } at the end. I am an extreme novice with JavaScript, but it doesn't appear to me that I'm missing a }.

<script type="text/JavaScript">

function(){

event.value = this.getField("Total College Expense").value - this.getField("Less Prepaid Total").value - this.getField("Less Procurement Card").value - this.getField("Less Advances").value - this.getField("Amount Due: College").value;

}

</script>

Thanks for any help you can offer!

Kirsten

• 1. Re: Using Custom Calculation Script box in Acrobat Pro X
          George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional

It should be:

event.value = this.getField("Total College Expense").value - this.getField("Less Prepaid Total").value - this.getField("Less Procurement Card").value - this.getField("Less Advances").value - this.getField("Amount Due: College").value;

• 2. Re: Using Custom Calculation Script box in Acrobat Pro X
            kabotsi7521 Level 1

Thanks, George. No more complaints about missing }, but it still doesn't calculate when I click or tab into the field. Do I need to do anything else with the other fields (e.g. "Total College Expense" "Less Procurement Card," etc.)?

• 3. Re: Using Custom Calculation Script box in Acrobat Pro X
              George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional