8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 28, 2013 5:48 PM by the_wine_snob

Editing clips = changed timeline?

ultfris05

Hello all!

I am new to Premier Elements (11), so please excuse the newbie question. I'll appreciate whatever help you can give!

I'm in the process of editing a short commercial that has many clips with several layers. When I edit a clip to make it longer or shorter, all of the following clips move down the timeline. For example, if I extend the length of one clip by 00:00:00:10, then all of the following clips move up by the same amount. Editing one clip moves all of my other clips around and changes the whole video!

Does anyone have any advice? Thanks in advance!

• 1. Re: Editing clips = changed timeline?
          A.T. Romano Level 7

ultfris05

I believe you are observing the normal ripple effect of the Timeline movement under the circumstances that you describe.

Please check out the following Adobe Tech Note on arranging clips in the Timeline Expert view.

http://help.adobe.com/en_US/premiereelements/using/WS9B8F8208-EAE8-4b49-A79B-9479B46A8981. html

After you go through the how to article, if you still have any questions on adding and arranging clips on the Timeline, please do not hesitate to ask for clarification.

Thank you.

ATR

• 2. Re: Editing clips = changed timeline?
            ultfris05 Level 1

Hi ATR!

Thanks for your reply. I read through the article, and I'm not sure that it addressed the issue. Let me try explaining again with some screen shots.

Here's what the timeline looks like before I edit a clip:timeline 1.PNG

And after I decrease the time of the toes2-2.jpg clip on the left:

timeline 3.PNG

The desired result would have been for the middle column of clips (gas tank 2.jpg) to stay where it was (ahead of the :24 mark) instead of rippling down to below the :24 mark.

Does this help clarify the problem? Did I miss anything in the article that could help with this?

Thanks a ton!

• 3. Re: Editing clips = changed timeline?