10 Replies Latest reply on Oct 22, 2007 2:08 PM by Newsgroup_User

Font Sharpness & Clarity

briz26
      Hi,

I am new to fireworks, when creating images with fonts, the fonts do not appear as sharp as I would like them too. For example, the fonts are not as crisp and sharp on the edges as like MS Word. I have played around with all the basic settings, (crisp anti-alias, made the resolution 300 dpi,) using verdana size 10 black.

Is there any trick or setting I have wrong to get clear and crisp fonts that are small??

Thanks.
        • 1. Re: Font Sharpness & Clarity
          Level 7
          Try doing a search for Pixel Fonts.

These fonts are designed to be used at a specific size and usually without
          any anti alias and to look good at (very) small sizes.

An example of some can be seen here (but there are loads more)...

http://minifonts.com/bundles.html

Peter

"briz26" <webforumsuser@macromedia.com> wrote in message
          news:fedrn2$eea$1@forums.macromedia.com...
          | Hi,
          |
          | I am new to fireworks, when creating images with fonts, the fonts do not
          | appear as sharp as I would like them too. For example, the fonts are not
          as
          | crisp and sharp on the edges as like MS Word. I have played around with
          all
          | the basic settings, (crisp anti-alias, made the resolution 300 dpi,) using
          | verdana size 10 black.
          |
          | Is there any trick or setting I have wrong to get clear and crisp fonts
          that
          | are small??
          |
          | Thanks.
          |

• 2. Re: Font Sharpness &amp; Clarity
            Level 7
            briz26 wrote:
            > Hi,
            >
            > I am new to fireworks, when creating images with fonts, the fonts do not
            > appear as sharp as I would like them too. For example, the fonts are not as
            > crisp and sharp on the edges as like MS Word. I have played around with all