12 Replies Latest reply on Mar 17, 2015 10:05 AM by Cadillacula

Sequence of 4 tracks affecting an individual sequence for each track

Cadillacula Level 1

I have a master sequence with 4 stacked tracks of original/raw footage. I have chopped up all the footage on the various tracks into clips to get my edits how I’d like them.

Now I’d like to turn each track (of chopped video) within this master sequence into it's own new sequence so I can color correct the track of clips individually (each track is a different shot and requires its own color correcting).

The problem is when I do this via nesting – nesting each track from my master sequence individually - my master sequence then contains 4 solid/locked tracks which yes I can easily apply separate color correcting to – BUT – I can no longer edit the chopped clips on each track. Each track of edited footage (clips of video with gaps between them) have been scooted away to their own separate sequences. This is to say I no longer have a master sequence with 4 "stacked" tracks of edited clips that I can slide or stretch around.

Is there a way to have a sequence of stacked tracks – that when cut, stretched and slid around (re-edited) will automatically affect corresponding separate individual sequences of those clips.

The goal is to always be able to edit the tracks of stacked raw clips together in a single sequence and have those edits simultaneously being reflected in other individual color corrected sequences.

Remember I have to color correct each track of clips from the original master sequence separately/differently. So what I am trying to achieve is vastly different than grabbing all of the tracks/clips on Sequence A and nesting them into one new locked sequence for color correcting.

Thoughts?

p.s.