2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 5, 2013 5:41 AM by owenshireband

Why Crazy Long Export Time? Please help!

owenshireband

Hello,

I am a novice to semi-experienced user of Premiere Pro in creative suite 6. Previously, I made a 3 minute music video with multiple edits, an additional sequence overlay, and an effects overlay. Already rendered, it took 3 hours to export. This seemed normal to me (and this is not my immediate concern). Export stats were as follows: 661MB file, H.264 file, VBR 2 pass, use max render quality, render at max depth, target bit rate 32, max bit rate 40 (the defaults) 1920 x 1080 res.

Recently I've made another video--this one is 4 minutes (881MB). It has mutliple edits, three overlays, and subtitles running throughout the entire clip. This one claims to take 14 hours to export. I tried this (letting it run all night--what the hell) and it got stuck at 71% with 5 hours left, so I aborted it. However, I did get it exported in 5 hours (as an MPEG) by just selecting "use sequence settings."

Ideally I'd like to export all my videos as H.264 clips, maximum render quality, VBR 2 pass, etc etc (as above)--to get the max quality I can. In fact, I recently uploaded my older project to check if that one would take extra long (in case my computer got a virus or glitch) but, nope, the older video still takes "only" 3 hours.

And yes, everything is rendered before I export.

My laptop stats are as follows: Windows 7, service pack 1, 6 gigs of RAM, 64 bit operating system, with the following processor--Intel Core i7-2630QM CPU @ 2.00GHz 

Essentially, why would one video take 3 hours while the other is 14 and gets stuck? Frustrating.
      Thanks for all your help.

BTW If I can't solve the problem, what's the next best quality to H.264? Strangely the 5 hour export MPEG is 849MB--and looks just like the rendered raw file--so maybe this is good enough (?).

Thanks in advance for any help.