5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 9, 2013 2:50 PM by Soulless_73

How to add a Title (slide? screen?) BEFORE the video track

Soulless_73 Level 1

Hello,

I'm very new to Adobe Premiere Pro and I'm trying to figure out how to add a title to my project but I don't want the title on the start of the video in the sequence. I'd like to add it to a black screen, maybe with some transition effects, that will play prior to the video starting. Do I need to create a black image in CS and add it as a still and just add the title to the still which I can position before the video/audio track A starts?

I'm hoping that there's something I can do right within Premiere that will give me a place to put the title before my video starts. I didn't see an option to add a blank slide or something to that effect that I can add title to.

thanks for your assistance!

The more I learn the more excited I get, this software is great.

• 1. Re: How to add a Title (slide? screen?) BEFORE the video track
          shooternz Level 6

INSERT the title clip ahead of your next clip.

Checkout all the methods to do an 'Insert". Its a fundamental to editing in an NLE

There are a few ways to create Black.

Create Color Matte

Create Black Video

An empty  space in the timeline is Black (Alpha)

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How to add a Title (slide? screen?) BEFORE the video track
            Jim_Simon Level 8

This is pretty basic stuff, Soulless.  Try the following link.  You'll have an easier time if you learn the software before using it.

FAQ: How do I learn Premiere Pro?

• 3. Re: How to add a Title (slide? screen?) BEFORE the video track
              Soulless_73 Level 1

Thanks for the link.. like I said in my post, I'm brand new to the software and I've been watching and following guides for hours. Time is not on my side, I have a project that must be done by the end of this week and I have very limited time after work.