19 Replies Latest reply on Nov 4, 2007 3:02 AM by levancho

Flex Experiences

pope on acid Level 1
      3 months I have tried to get some Flex projects up and running. 3 moonths waste of time.
      Even simple actions as like filtering records are very hard to code.

Since my boss don't wants me to lose more time with Flex he orders me to get on with my work using Coldfusion. Although the looks are not that great as from (working) Flex apps, it was a great release for me.

My opinion?
      If you are not an experienced java developer you shouldn't touch Flex!

Regards,
        • 1. Re: Flex Experiences
          batmitra Level 1
          Hi
          i disagree with you 100% , i am not an expert on java development, to tell you the truth i've never worked with java but i started to work with flex and the learning curve was very easy.

Where i work we made a portal using dotnetnuke wit asp.net behind the scenes , now with flex i'm redesigning the portal from the ground up and i can tell you this, we have almost all we had with asp.net and dotnetnuke and we saved almost 70 % of code and time development.

We did the transformation in about 3 and a half month with 1 month of learning flex, so this is my experience and i'm glad flex exist. From what i've seen it's even more easy to work with flex and coldfusion, so i don't see how you gave up.
          • 2. Re: Flex Experiences
            gmurnock Level 1
            I have to agree. took on Flex in July with no Java background only some back end (ASP Clasic) and new to CF. My new application (soon to be a module later) will be complete in a month or so. Previous dev time on the specific area I'm converting was about 2 years.