9 Replies Latest reply on Jun 15, 2006 3:27 PM by Craig Grummitt

Moving an mc to mouse coord's

Jimmathy Level 1
      ill admitt it, i am a complete novice when it comes to actionscript, but the best way i found to learn it is to get the code and change each part to figure it out. So how would i make it so that when i click Either on a mc or just anywhere that it creates an mc at coodinants that ill specify and makes it move pretty quicky to the mouse coordinant where the mouse was clicked.
      thanks
        • 1. Re: Moving an mc to mouse coord's
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP
          it wouldn't make sense to create a movieclip and have it move towards the mouse because you can only create an empty movieclip which wouldn't present much visual excitement for the viewer. you could attach a movieclip from your library and have it move towards the cursor.

if that's what you want you need to create the movieclip in the authoring environment (or load a swf or use the drawing api), enable its export for actionscript and then attach it someplace when the mouse is pressed. you can then initiate a loop that would move the movieclip from where it was attached to the cursor.
          • 2. Re: Moving an mc to mouse coord's
            Jimmathy Level 1
            Okay, i figured out a better way to go about this, so forget about the attachmovie part. Now what i cannot figure out is how to make an mc that is placed on the stage move to the mouses coordinates where it was clicked, then make it's _x _y coordinates the original ones from when it was placed on the stage after about 2 seconds of moving to the mouses position.
            thanks
            • 3. Re: Moving an mc to mouse coord's
              i understand the part about the mc moving to the spot on-stage where the mouse was pressed. what's that second part about making something's "... _x_y coordinates the original..."?
              • 4. Re: Moving an mc to mouse coord's