5 Replies Latest reply on Jul 18, 2013 12:58 AM by Fuzzy Barsik

Difference in quality between preview and rendered video

Kim DT

I'm new to Premiere Pro CC but I have tried to import some HD video (1080p25) from my Canon 5Dmrk3. When downscaling (Scale to Frame Size) to an SD-timeline I did notice a difference in quality between preview (yellow) and rendered (green) video clips. The yellow clips where downscaled to the expected lower resolution in SD but when I rendered the clips (green) the resolution decreased to as far I could judge to half the resolution or television lines.

I tried to export the sequence to a new file (quicktime, DV50, .mov) but got the same result when importing to Premiere. But when I viewed the file in Quicktime Player the quality was fine.

I have the same problem when I zoom and pan in to large picture files.

What I expected was that the rendered clips should be like the final quality and as it is now it is difficult to work with downscaled video and image clips.

Project Settings: Video Rendering and Playback Engine GPU Acceleration (CUDA)

Export Settings: QuickTime, DV50 PAL

Use Max. Render Quality, Use Previews

My system:

MacBook Pro

OS X 10.8.4 (12E55)

2.7 GHz Intel Core i7
      16GB 1600MHz DDR3

NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M 1024 MB

Regards

Kim Dang Trong

• 1. Re: Difference in quality between preview and rendered video
          Sausagehead5 Level 1

I get bad results when working in SD with GPU acceleration turned on, try turning it off when working with SD.

• 2. Re: Difference in quality between preview and rendered video
            Kim DT Level 1

Hi Sausagehead5

Thank You for your reply, but it was not a solution for me. Now my preview (all red clips) is really bad and after rendering I have the same result (lower res playback) and export lasted about 4 times longer. The final file where fine though - viewed i QT player.

Regards Kim DT

• 3. Re: Difference in quality between preview and rendered video