7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 26, 2013 8:34 AM by John T Smith

Video production laptop specs

Umed Annaniaz

Hi folks,

I'm planning to purchase a laptop for video production. Specially for AE and premiere pro, and some gaming. I had asked a similar question before, but just after the new chips got released, so I waited.

(I'm not very experienced, so please forgive some simple questions)

Here is my configuration (numbered to make it easy to comment) and some questions:

1- Intel Core i7-4700MQ (2.4GHz, quad core, 6mb cache, turbo mode 3.4GHz, 47W)

2- NVIDIA Geforce GTX 770m

3- RAM 4x8 32GB DDR3-1600MHz (an IT guy told me that current systems can make use of up to 12gb of ram only. Is that true. Should I be going for 8+4gb ram?)

4- 256gb ssd Samsung 840 PRO

5- 1TB + 8GB SSD, 64mb cache (so this 1tb hdd is supposed to have ssd speed. I chose it for storing my 150+gb video projects and my movies. speaking of storage, is it advised to have a ssd for the OS and software, and a fast and larger hdd to store the videos/the project so that the software can access it quickly? It's not advised to have both the software and the project vids on the same hdd. Is this correct?)

6- What shall I do with the msata slots? Are they the same as the usual SSDs but just smaller?

7- Which screen shall I choose: some say go for "17.3 inch Full HD Non-Glare - 72% Gamut (AUO B173HW01 V4)" and some say "17.3 inch Full HD Glare - 90% Gamut (AUO B173HW01 V5)".

8- Wireless / Bluetooth: Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6235 dual band AGN (2.4/5GHz), 300mbps + bluetooth 4.0 (wireless display)

9- Do you think by now win8 is developed enough? Or shall I go for win7?

The link is below in case I've left something out. It's a Dutch website but the names of the parts are the same:

http://www.bto.eu/html/configureer.asp?PartnerID=1&DisplayPartnerID=1&ProductID=619&lang=n l

Greetings,

Umed

• 1. Re: Video production laptop specs
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8