18 Replies Latest reply on Aug 2, 2013 6:27 PM by station_two

Photo Coversion for Indesign ?

belstar

I am a photographer using LR and photoshop and wanting to know the best workflow when preparing photos for a Indesign brouchure - I am using a new  external designer to produce these but use my own printer so have been able to correct some of the minor colour issues. I know Indesign allows use of both CMKY and RGB - designer is requesting me to convert Photos to CMYK JPEG which i can do but in the past never done it this way - have always provided resized PSD file and final conversion done by designer. Are there issues doing it this way or is this ok.

• 1. Re: Photo Coversion for Indesign ?
          John Danek Level 4

Sounds a little perplexing...I would think the "designer" would want your files either as RAW or in an RGB profile that will convert well to their InDesign color settings.  What is your original RGB profile and what CMYK profile are are they saved with going to the "designer"?  I realy do not understand the advatage to supplying the designer with converted photos unless they are trimming the time necessary to do the conversions out of their estimates.  Has the designer told you which CMYK profile to apply to the pics?

• 2. Re: Photo Coversion for Indesign ?
            belstar Level 1

Thanks John , yes I agree i would normally supply a raw -psd file PROPHOTO- She advised the CMYK PROFILE and yes maybe it is about time.

I am wanting to know the disadvantages or issues that may arise from this ? It's likely i will look to use someone else in future but wanting to know possible or potential issuses that may occur this way. ? 

• 3. Re: Photo Coversion for Indesign ?
              John Danek Level 4