5 Replies Latest reply on Jun 14, 2006 10:14 AM by laura_shears

EASY Question - But Hard for the Actioscript inept

todditami
      Ok,

So this is my first attempt at making a web page...
      I am trying to simply make my little button display my movie labeled "Content", I don't think I am doing somthing right...

Doh....

I have diffrent movies (p1 & p2) for button rollover effects... and I have a seperate clip named content with labels for "start1" and "start2" that I want to display when I click the buttons

Anywho if you would like to take a look see I would be very thankful:

http://www.itamidesign.com/test.fla

Thanks for your help...

-Todd
        • 1. Re: EASY Question - But Hard for the Actioscript inept
          laura_shears
          Something went wrong when I tried your link.

Is your movie inside your flash program or is it an external movie?

If you have named your button something like myBtn, then you can put in some actionscript to load an external movie such as:

myBtn.onRelease = function():Void
          {
          movieHolder.loadMovie("content");
          }

where movieHolder is the name of an empty movie clip that you place on the stage to hold external movies.

Alternately, you can add the code to the button itself. In this case you don't need to give the button an instance name:

on (release)
          {
          movieHolder.loadMovie("content");
          }