4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 23, 2013 8:28 AM by A.T. Romano

    Is it safe to delete saved movie versions?

    MeekaLuluLuna

      I finished editing a 2hr movie & noticed there are many auto-saved versions earlier than my final version.  Can I delete the earlier versions without damaging my final version?

        • 1. Re: Is it safe to delete saved movie versions?
          A.T. Romano Level 7

          MeekaLuluLuna

           

          Always good to say what version of Premiere Elements that you are using and on what computer operating system.

           

          Until you actually archive the project, I would leave everything as is. See Project Archiver, Archiver or Copy option. Then delete whatever you want.

          http://help.adobe.com/en_US/premiereelements/using/WS09e4b3c48f3a79fc19b622510385d4355c-7d cb.html

           

          Deleting earlier AutoSaves does not damage last one as far as I have ever seen or heard of. In fact, dependant on how you setup the AutoSave function in preferences that is exactly what the project is doing when it reaches the max that you have set, bumping off the earliest to accommodate the latest.

           

          ATR

          • 2. Re: Is it safe to delete saved movie versions?
            MeekaLuluLuna Level 1

            Thank you. I'm using PE11 & Windows7

             

            Sandy

            • 3. Re: Is it safe to delete saved movie versions?
              MeekaLuluLuna Level 1

              One of the PE11 folders is called "Previews" & has almost 100GB size.  It's

              taking up so much memory I don't have enough room to archive my movie

              project.  Can I delete the Preview folder?  It contains rendered audio and

              video clips.

              • 4. Re: Is it safe to delete saved movie versions?
                A.T. Romano Level 7

                MeekaLuluLuna

                 

                If you have 100 GB of preview files in the "Adobe Premiere Elements Previews FIles Folder" which is found in the 11.0 Folder

                (path

                Documents

                Adobe

                Premiere Elements

                11.0)

                 

                Best delete them, but with this thought...these are previews files generated by your rendering of the Timeline content. Once you delete them, the content in the related projects will need to be Timeline rendered again to get the best possible preview (IF NEEDED). And if needed, you may not want or need to re-render that whole content with the orange line over it.

                 

                You can do selective rendering.

                Set the gray tabs of the Work Area Bar to span only that portion of the Timeline content that you want rendered for preview purposes.

                To set the left gray tab, move the Timeline Indicator to the start of the segment to be rendered, hold down Alt of computer main keyboard as you click on the left bracket key [

                To set the right gray tab, move the Timeline Indicator to the end of the segment to be rendered, hold down Alt of computer main keyboard as you click on the right bracket key ]

                 

                SelectiveRendering.JPG

                 

                Please let me know if you are OK with the above.

                 

                Thanks.

                 

                ATR