7 Replies Latest reply on Jul 29, 2013 8:07 AM by sinious

Seven Year Flash Developer - Need Guidance on Where to Go From Here

RP_Schmidt Level 1

I have been a Flash developer working primarily in distance ("e") learning for about seven years now.

Using Flash, I developed a robust GUI that provides learning content and communicates with SCORM 1.2+ compliant learning management systems.

That was great; I could develop robust, beautiful product geared to client needs, adapted to their corporate / educational branding and the product performed wonderfully on multiple platforms, even mobile platforms (except iOS).

Here we are in 2013 and the product that I built up and refined over the past years is now inaccessible to any computing platform except for laptop / desktop computers. No tablets, no phones. What used to be a contiguous experience over multiple platforms is now isolated to work natively on only two platforms (unless it is aided by third-party browsers or applications).

I won't go on to lament Adobe's short-sighted abandonment of Flash Player development for mobile devices (although I will refer Adobe and their developers to Moore's Law and ask them how long they think it will be before mobile devices are sporting hardware that meets / exceeds the requirement for the full Flash player - my guess is by the latest, mid-2014 - or now, if you own a Microsoft Surface Pro).

My question is; where do I go from here? How do I take my GUI and restore its cross-platform compability?

My GUI works with XML to load content and manage LMS details. Previously, that worked just fine.

Now, however, the only mobile platforms that natively support  the learning content I have spent the last seven years developing are Windows-based devices.

I revised my GUI to Actionscript 3, but my question remains - what form do I need to port to in order for my product to work as it previously did, i.e. -

• Fast and efficient
      • Rich media and content support