4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 26, 2013 2:25 AM by Derek Cross

Printing Catalogue using InDesign and Slug/Bleeding

ay5ha

Hey all. So i am a newbie to InDesign and I need to create a catalogue. I have done a rough draft of what it should look like in Word but now i am ready to start implementing the final in InDesign. Just a few things i need to be cleared first so that the document can be ready for printing. So i need to align the text to make sure that when the catalogue pages are combined when printed, the text doesn't dissapear or get cut off into the gap in between the pages. There needs to be a reasonable amount of space from the edge of the page from the left and right side. Is there a setting where i can determine this and prevent the cutting off the text from happening? I see in InDesign that there are purply-pink borders on the pages.. does this determine that the text needs to stay inside this area so that the text wont get cut off? I am also unsure as to what the Bleed and Slug is used for too.. Any help with clearing these questions will be much appreciatted. Thanks.

• 3. Re: Printing Catalogue using InDesign and Slug/Bleeding
          Eugene Tyson Adobe Community Professional & MVP

As long as your text is at a safe distance from the edge of the page - you're fine. Or any material that is intended to be viewed by the reader- this needs to be in the "Safe Type Area" as illustrated above.

You can talk to your printers about this safe area.

Bleed area is there for the printers - talk to them about how much you need. This is the area for anything that needs to be right on the page edge, it needs to extend past the page edge for trimming purposes. You need to ensure that these items extend from the page into the page area.