18 Replies Latest reply on Jun 27, 2006 6:24 PM by SPGAnne

Class use of onRollOver

SPGAnne
      I am a newbie, so pardon any stupidity up front. I've been studying Colin Moock's book Essential Action Script 2.0. I would like to enhance his Ball Class discussed in Chapter 4 so that it responds to onRollOver, onPress etc. (i.e. the button like methods for the MovieClip class). I have been successful in creating functions (outside of the class definition, on the timeline) where I have this code:
      creatBox ("my box prototype");

function createBox(clipName:String) : Void {
      this.attachMovie(clipName, "box_mc", this.getNextHighestDepth());
      }

box_mc.onRollOver = function() {
      trace ("roll over" );
      }

But how do I put that onRollOver capability inside a class? I tried using the techniques described on page 208 about composition, but the Class doesn't ever get a onRollOver method called. I also tried using the technique described on page 85 of registering the Box class to receive Mouse events i.e., Mouse.addListener(this); However the Mouse object apparently doesn't have onRollOver, just MouseMove. Does that mean I have to write some fancy code to see if the Mouse is over me? Yuk, that must mean I also need to do stuff for all the other things like up inside, up outside etc. I hope there is a clever thing I am just missing.

Thanks to anyone who can help me out.

• 1. Re: Class use of onRollOver
          Peter Lorent Level 2
          You can use a method in the class like attached code. Pass the target mc to the method. If you want to write code on a frame, make the method public.
          • 2. Re: Class use of onRollOver
            SPGAnne Level 1
            Dear Mr./Ms. LuigiL,
            Thank you so much for your willingness to help me. Sorry to be dense, but who/how is the setRollOver method invoked? Specifically, my Box (sorry I called it Ball before) class looks something like this:

class Box {