10 Replies Latest reply on Sep 10, 2014 1:20 PM by A.T. Romano

Mixing Audio in Premiere Elements 11

Santia558 Level 1

Hello. I am new to PrE and video editing in general.

I have video recorded where the Left (Ch1 mono) and Right (Ch2 mono) are seperate mono audio tracks...Ch1 is a feed from a wireless mic and Ch2 is a feed from a shotgun mic.

In this recorded form they are seperate when played back, Ch1 on Left and Ch2 on Right.

How in PrE 11 can I mix Ch1 mono & Ch2 mono to create a new merged mono audio track?

Then once merged, how can I duplicate this single merged mono track to playback on both the Left and Right channels?

Also if possible how can I lower the volume of the Ch1 (Left) mono audio prior to merging them so the volume levels can be equalized, as the current Ch1 (Left) audio is a bit louder than the Ch2 (Right)?

Thanks for any help you can suggest.

• 1. Re: Mixing Audio in Premiere Elements 11
          A.T. Romano Level 7

Santia558

Here is my take on what you wrote.

If you have two mono audio tracks in your video file before import in Premiere Elements (any version), upon import into Premiere Elements they will be merged into one stream and be represented in the project as one audio file in Audio 1. You would have left channel mono and right channel mono.

You wrote

How in PrE 11 can I mix Ch1 mono & Ch2 mono to create a new merged mono audio track?

It would appear to me that the program is doing that for you when you import your source medium into the project.

Then you wrote

Also if possible how can I lower the volume of the Ch1 (Left) mono audio prior to merging them so the volume levels can be equalized, as the current Ch1 (Left) audio is a bit louder than the Ch2 (Right)?

You should be able to do that in Premiere Elements with audio effect Balance. Have you checked the description of the Audio Effects available to you in Premiere Elements 11?