8 Replies Latest reply on Jul 28, 2013 10:22 PM by Todd_Kopriva

render is too slow

Arrakis Level 1

Ok before you send me to another website with render information. Im not a complete noob and I have read a lot of stuff about the best way to render etc already however, I have a 5 minute comp composed of many precomps. The entire project is made from still images with effects, lights,  camera moves etc.   But its taking 12 hours to do the final render. I have tried many different setting but it still my final render takes 12 hours?  Is this normal?

Also many times when Im working and I want to ram preview. I have both comp resolution and ram preview set to 1/4 and it will render very slowly sometimes it will stop and part of the green line turns blue. Then I have to try again and it just continues to do the same thing. Its very hard for me to check the work Ive done when I cant render it correctly.

Im a bit unsure about how I should be setup.  I noticed in prefs it says to use a separate drive for the disk cache. I did have it set to my macbook but it kept saying there was no room even though I had it set to 40 gigs.  So I moved it back to my lacie rugged firewire which is where my files are.

Mac book pro 10.8.4 16GB

2.2 Ghz Intel Core i7

SSD 

Graphics  AMD Radeon HD 6750M 1024 MB

AE CS6

Screen Shot 2013-07-29 at 9.42.45 AM.png

• 1. Re: render is too slow
          Dave LaRonde Level 6

Considering you used the word "lights" -- the plural of "light" -- the render time could be just about right.  Render times soar with each additional light.  AE has a lot of calculating to do for a bunch of lights.

• 2. Re: render is too slow
            Todd_Kopriva Level 8