4 Replies Latest reply on Aug 1, 2013 5:51 PM by foolery1962

Modifying downloaded AE Templates

foolery1962

Folks: Hi and thanks for the forum. I’m relatively new to AE and am puzzled by (quite) a few things. I’m very fluent in digital video editing (I use Avid Media Composer) and was looking/hoping to use some glitzy video opener to a new project I’m doing; I am hoping to find some flashy intro that has four or five text blocks, maybe an image where I can insert my own media

First I went to Adobe and downloaded the free 30-day trial of After Effects (through Cloud Content, it seems). Then, I’ve found free AE templates on various websites, but it seems like every single one when I go to open it (the files came zipped – I unzipped them and then double-clicked the AE Project file in the folders) tells me a multitude of errors have occurred, most commonly –

“This project must be converted from version 8.0x247 (Windows)…” – or some similar message; more often it says MAC OS.

“The following dependencies are missing: “ and lists several fonts…

“After Effects Warning: X# files are missing since you last saved the project” (although I’ve NEVER saved it – yet; I just downloaded and opened it…).

“After Effects Warning: File (NAME OF PROJECT) is locked. You can’t save any changes to this file.”

On most of the files I seem to get a set of color cars as background instead of any image.

When I look to the lower left of the workspace, I don’t seem to see ANY text available to modify…

Man, am I feeling like a TOTAL newbie… Can anyone suggest a way I can locate some decent glitzy project file(s)

• 1. Re: Modifying downloaded AE Templates
          OldBob1957 Level 4

This is the Lounge, and not very well populated, I'm afraid. Try posting again in the Aftereffects Forum HERE.

--OB

• 2. Re: Modifying downloaded AE Templates
            the_wine_snob Level 9

Foolery1962,