5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 5, 2013 12:05 PM by elainecc

Load and Control Extrenal HTML within Edge?

FuzzyDrawings

To preface things, I'm primarily a Flash animator - I can work my way around Action Script, but since swf files are on the outs, I have started messing with Edge Animate and HTML5 in general...

Let's say I want to use Edge to let users control an animated character. Now, in Flash, I'd just create a nested timeline of  - we'll call him McFlashy - like this:

• frames 1-50 is a "waiting" period, meant to loop while waiting for users to push a button;
      • frames 50 - 100 McFlashy jumps then returns to frame 1;
      • frames 100- 200 McFlashy waves and says "Hello! The SWF is dead!" and returns to frame 1;

Then I'd simply place buttons (ie JUMP_btn and SPEAK_btn) on the stage with "gotoandPlay.McFlashy_mc("jump") functionality. Pretty simple stuff. Now I want to recreate this in Edge Animate...

I used CreateJS to export the animation as an HTML file (McFlashy.html). What's the next step?

• How do I tell Edge to load the McFlashy.html inside the main file created by Edge?
      • Can I control WHERE the McFlashy.html appears on the stage?
      • How can I have the Edge buttons control the McFlashy.html file like I mentioned earlier?
      • Is there a better way to do this than what I'm trying?
        • Let's assume I have to use Edge.
        • I know importing a PNG sequence or even Sprite sheet into Edge might be better, but unltimately, I will need to control long and complicated animations that have audio like this, so PNGs and Sprites aren't the best option (I assume)

Thanks SOOOO much for anyone who takes the time - I'm feeling pretty lost here

• 1. Re: Load and Control Extrenal HTML within Edge?
          elainecc Adobe Employee

Hi, FuzzyDrawings-

First off, welcome!

A couple of things to note here.