21 Replies Latest reply on Sep 5, 2013 5:55 PM by M.Su

Lengthy Drop Down List Items

M.Su Level 1

I am completely new to Acrobat and Javascripts.

Are there any scripts that can:

- Wrap text within a drop down list?

- Automatically wrap long drop down items into a text field below it?

Or, if there is an invisible multiline text field beneath the drop down list, is there a script that can:

- Make the text field visible and the drop down list invisible when the entry reaches the right margin,

- Automatically move the drop down item or custom text into the text field,

- Still allow the user to select a different item from the drop down list if necessary?

Please kindly include directions as to how and where the scripts should be applied if any of these are possible.

Thank you dearly in advance.

• 1. Re: Lengthy Drop Down List Items
          MichaelN Level 3

Here is a script to put the selected item from a combo box menu into a text field.

//Place this script in the custom validation script of the drop down menu

//Create a text field called myTextField

var MySelection = event.value;

switch (MySelection) {

case "Item1 Description":

this.getField("myTextField").value = "Item1 Description";

break;

case "Item2 Description":

this.getField("myTextField").value = "Item2 Description";

break;

//etc.

}

I hope this helps.

• 2. Re: Lengthy Drop Down List Items
            M.Su Level 1

Thank you. I've tried using the script, pasting it exactly as it is into the custom validation script of the drop down menu after creating "myTextField".

It didn't quite work. Am I supposed to replace the "Item1 Description"? If so, what should it be replaced with?

Also, my drop down menus have over twenty items each... do I need to list each of them in the script?

Is there any way to modify the script so that it is not necessary to do so and to hide the drop down menu so that only the text field is visible after a selection is made?