5 Replies Latest reply on Aug 5, 2013 1:48 PM by kglad

Newer flash player not opening SWFs

mcstampfunk Level 1

Hi Everyone

I'm a teacher and am having problem opening student SWF files. I believe many of my students are still in Flash CS6, or perhaps CS5.

I have Flash CC installed. It looks like my Flash Player is 11.7.700.169. But I also have Flash Player 11.4.402.265, which from what I understand is the Flash CS6 player??

When I try to open their SWF to view, it just closes immediately. I can open the .FLA fine., although when this has happened it looks like students have used TLF text, and I get a message from Flash CC saying this is unsupported. But if they have done anything with fonts I don't have, I can't see their work as intended. This is an intro class, so they really haven't learned about embedding yet.

My hunch is that the TLF text won't run in the newer Flash player. But I'm wondering why the SWF doesn't then come up okay with version 11.4xxx.  Any ideas on what I can do ?

• 1. Re: Newer flash player not opening SWFs
          kglad Adobe Community Professional & MVP

1.  if they are not embedding fonts and you don't have a font used by one of your students, you won't see their project the same way they see it.

2.  that said, you should still be able to see their swfs.  just open a swf (or better, the embedding html) in a web browser that has a flash player plugin..

• 2. Re: Newer flash player not opening SWFs
            mcstampfunk Level 1

Thanks. Yes, you're right on #1. That's why I'm trying to view the SWF because I need to see their original designs.

I didn't try the browser before, and that does work for me. I guess I will have to do it htat way. My usual work flow is to right click (I'm on a Mac) on the SWF and open in the Flash player. It won't open that way anymore for those types of files.

I also tried to view in Bridge, which I do sometimes also. The preview window just comes up blank.