8 Replies Latest reply: Aug 11, 2013 5:33 AM by The_DC RSS

Buttons in Flash CS6

The_DC Community Member

Hi There,

I am new to flash and would like to know how to make a button go to a designated frame using ActionScript 3.0!

I have several buttons in my interface (they all have different instance names) and would like them all to go to different frame markers within my application.

Can someone help me out with this basic request. I did do some work in Flash many years ago but this new interface (CS6) looks very different to anything I have seen before.

Thanks heaps and TLK soon.

Regards,

Glen

• 1. Re: Buttons in Flash CS6
          Ned Murphy CommunityMVP

Here is one basic way, where each button has a function dedicated to clicking it...

btnName.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, gotoFrame10);

function gotoFrame10(evt:MouseEvent):void {

gotoAndStop(10);

}

Another way would be to have a single shared function that determines which frame is desired based on some information from the button... like using a number in its name, or a property that you assign (movieclips as buttons).

• 2. Re: Buttons in Flash CS6
            The_DC Community Member

Thanks Ned,

What I would actually lke to do is ask the playhead to go to a frame with an instance name, like for example when I click one of the buttons I would want the playhead to go to a frame called "Typography" and obviously there are many different names in different places on the timeline.

Can this be done?

• 3. Re: Buttons in Flash CS6
              Ned Murphy CommunityMVP

You could use the name of the button as the frame label and then just replace the frame number with the button's name.  You could do that generically using...

typography.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, gotoFrame);

videography.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK, gotoFrame);

function gotoFrame(evt:MouseEvent):void {

gotoAndStop(evt.currentTarget.name);

}