8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 12, 2013 9:51 AM by JesseHarris

CS 6 Dual-system Sound Workflow

JesseHarris Level 1

I'm coming from FCP 7, and this is my first project in PPro.  I'm working in CS6 on a Mac with OSX10.8.4.

I have interview footage shot on 5DMK2-3, with production sound recorded separately.  I hand-synced (well-marked) the footage and WAV files in h.264 timelines.  I'd like to cut them together in a Master sequence, using the Source Monitor so I can use Overwrite/Insert edits.

Is there a way to export each syned sequence uncompressed, so they'll be "footage" again I can place in the Source Monitor?  Or must I transcode the synced sequences to 422 ProRes?  I was hoping to avoid any transcoding!  I tried using Command M, to export which brings up a window of AME, and by choosing Match Sequence Settings I get a .mpeg QT.  NOT ideal I imagine...  Again, I'm exporting out of a h.264 Timeline

I know there's an option of just cutting my synced sequences in a Master Sequence, but that will be "nesting" the sequences and I've heard there are problems exporting nested sequencesw with good xml to Pro Tools etc.

Thanks very much for any advice you can send my way.

• 1. Re: CS 6 Dual-system Sound Workflow
          Jim_Simon Level 8

Merged Clips is probably the best option here.  It'll treat the separate video and audio as one clip.

• 2. Re: CS 6 Dual-system Sound Workflow
            Steven L. Gotz Level 5

Do NOT export them. There is no need. If they are on their own sequence, you can you that sequence in the Source Monitor just like you can any media file.

Put the synced sequence into the Source Monitor and use Overwrite and Insert on to a new sequence all you want. Note that you can't just doubleclick it like you can a media file. Right click and tell it to open in the Source monitor.

• 3. Re: CS 6 Dual-system Sound Workflow
              JesseHarris Level 1