13 Replies Latest reply on Aug 19, 2013 7:07 AM by Paul R Stark

2nd low-cost camera for on-site shoots

Paul R Stark Level 1

I use the Panasonic HVX-200p for my studio work which is almost all green screen and usually shot at 720p30 or 720p60. I capture direct to my workstation using OnLocation CS4 via firewire.

Now I need a 2nd camera to capture on-site, outdoors mostly, but possibly some indoors. End use is educational DVD's and perhaps online courses, probably in H.264, so I don't need broadcast quality.

I need to go cheap on this because of my budget. I have little knowledge, but how about an inexpensive DSLR? My concern with these is that the codec is AVCHD [I think] and I've read about how this strains the PC requirements, is not easily digested (unless that's improved with CS6), etc. (see my Profile for workstation specs). Also, I'm not sure how it would look with the Panasonic keyed footage.

There is another option: carry a laptop with OnLocation CS4 installed and capture with it using the Panasonic. Granted, it is cumbersome and hinders in other ways, but it is possible. This choice, if acceptable, would require me to buy a laptop with a decent battery life (my existing laptop is an older, core 2 duo & the battery died long ago). I'd like to hear opinions on this because I don't know if this option would be cheaper than a new camera and/or give me better quality.

Anyway, I think you get the idea. I am most grateful for all recommendations. I am willing to consider used cameras, if that works.

Paul

P.S. I need at least one wireless microphone.

Message was edited by: Paul Stark

• 1. Re: 2nd low-cost camera for on-site shoots
          SAFEHARBOR11 Most Valuable Participant

Hi Paul,