8 Replies Latest reply on Aug 13, 2013 12:27 PM by A.T. Romano

Highlighting moving person

altuser100

I'm an amateur PE11 user making a sport highlight film from game clips. I'd like to find the easiest way to highlight a single player as they move. it doesn't have to be there throughout the entire clip, just as he enters the play or becomes interesting in it. There is a written tutorial in these discussions but it is for PE7 and quite arduous. I have 40 clips to add this feature to so I was hoping someone had a clever way in PE11 to do this. I tried a freeze frame but it throws the audio off and only works for those moments when the eye is already on the player. I need people to be able to locate the player on the screen. An opaque circle for about 100 frames would work nicely.

Any great ideas, or links to a solution?

Thanks,

Altuser100

• 1. Re: Highlighting moving person
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Welcome to the forum.

There are many ways to accomplish this goal.

Steve Grisetti, in his PrE Cool Tips & Tricks book, uses the Lighting Effect, set to Spotlight. Simple and very effective.

This verbal tutorial uses Track Matte Keying, which is a bit more involved, but can offer some great control - limited only by one's imagination: http://forums.adobe.com/thread/390834

One can also use animated Titles with a character, like an arrow from a symbols font: http://forums.adobe.com/message/3702803#3702803

Good luck, and if you have any questions on the use of any of those methods, do not hesitate to ask.

Hunt

• 2. Re: Highlighting moving person
            altuser100 Level 1

All great choices which make my life immeasurably easier.

Thanks x 1k

• 3. Re: Highlighting moving person
              A.T. Romano Level 7

Altuser100

If you want a quick and basic way to do want you described, consider: